2016 Truett Latimer Award

Bruce MacDougal

San Antonio Conservation Society Executive Director (1990-2016)

Named for the first state historic preservation officer of Texas, Truett Latimer, this award is given to a working professional who demonstrates a significant commitment and involvement to preservation as part of their job responsibilities.

Over the past 25 years, Bruce MacDougal lead the San Antonio Conservation Society in its mission to “preserve and to encourage the preservation of historic buildings, objects, places and customs relating to the history of Texas.” He was a tireless promoter of many projects including the preservation and reuse of the Ellis Alley Enclave, a 2016 Preservation Texas Rehabilitation Award recipient.