Preservation Texas Announces Honor Award for San Antonio’s Bruce MacDougal


February 11, 2016

Austin, Texas — Preservation Texas, Inc. has announced that Bruce MacDougal, executive director of the San Antonio Conservation Society, will receive the Truett Latimer Award on February 18, 2016.  This Honor Award will be presented at a special ceremony at the historic State Theatre on Congress Avenue in Austin as part of the Preservation Texas 2016 Summit.

The Truett Latimer Award, named for the first state historic preservation officer of Texas, is given to a working professional who demonstrates a significant commitment and involvement to preservation as part of their job responsibilities.

Over the past 25 years, Bruce MacDougal has led the San Antonio Conservation Society in its mission “to preserve and to encourage the preservation of historic buildings, objects, places and customs relating to the history of Texas.” He was a tireless promoter of many projects including the preservation and adaptive use of the Ellis Alley Enclave, another 2016 Preservation Texas Honor Award recipient.

“Bruce’s leadership has left San Antonio a better preserved city for all Americans to appreciate,” said Preservation Texas executive director Evan Thompson.  “The irreplaceable cultural heritage of the city that has been protected since Bruce began his duties in 1990 is worthy of this very special award.”


Founded in 1985, Preservation Texas is a member-supported non-profit historic preservation advocacy and education organization based in Austin, Texas.  The organization does not receive any government funding.  

For more information, visit or call 512-472-0102.

A PDF of this press release can be found here: