Advocacy Alert: Busy Week Ahead at the Capitol

April 1, 2019

Local property tax abatements, courthouse restoration program, the Alamo and billboards among issues to be heard in committees

BUILDING MATERIALS REGULATION

On Tuesday, SB 1266 (oppose), the companion to HB 2439, will be heard in the Senate Business & Commerce Committee at 8:00 am in room E1.012.  This bill would prohibit municipalities from regulating building materials.  We would support amended language allowing municipalities to regulate building materials on local historic landmarks and within local historic districts.

Senate Business & Commerce Committee Contacts:

Sen. Dawn Buckingham (Bill Author)
512-463-0124
dawn.buckingham@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Kelly Hancock (Chair)
512-463-0109
kelly.hancock@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Robert Nichols (Vice Chair)
512-463-0103
robert.nichols@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Donna Campbell
512-463-0125
donna.campbell@senate.state.tx.us

Sen. Brandon Creighton
512-463-0104
brandon.creighton@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Jose Menendez
512-463-0126
jose.menendez@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Angela Paxton
512-463-0108
angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Charles Schwertner
512-463-0105
Charles.Schwertner@senate.texas.gov

Sen. John Whitmire
512-463-0115
john.whitmire@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Judith Zaffirini
512-463-0121
judith.zaffirini@senate.texas.gov

 

COURTHOUSES, ANTIQUITIES ACT, BUTTERFIELD TRAIL AND THE ALAMO

Also on Tuesday, the  Culture, Recreation and Tourism Committee in the House of Representatives will meet at 2:00 pm in E1.014 for a hearing on five bills that impact historic resources.  HB 1125 (support) codifies THC rules that help level the playing field for small counties to compete for courthouse preservation grants.  HB 2052 (support) increases the criminal penalty for violations of the Texas Antiquities Code. HCR 73 (support) urges Congress to designate the Butterfield Overland Trail as a National Historic Trail.  Two additional bills we are monitoring pertain to the Alamo.  HB 1400 relates to monthly reports on preservation, maintenance and restoration expenses for the Alamo complex.  HB 1836 would require the General Land Office to use eminent domain to ensure that the Cenotaph in Alamo Plaza remains in its current location.

Culture, Recreation and Tourism Committee Contacts:

Rep. John Cyrier (Chair)
512-463-0682
john.cyrier@house.texas.gov

Rep. Armando Martinez (Vice Chair)
512-463-0530
mando.martinez@house.texas.gov

Rep. John Bucy III
512-463-0696
john.bucy@house.texas.gov

Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins
512-463-0708
barbara.gervin.hawkins@house.texas.gov

Rep. Justin Holland
512-463-0484
justin.holland@house.texas.gov

Rep. Jarvis Johnson
512-463-0554
jarvis.johnson@house.texas.gov

Rep. Kyle Kacal
512-463-0412
Kyle.Kacal@house.texas.gov

Rep. Geanie Morrison
512-463-0456
Geanie.Morrison@house.texas.gov

Rep. Steve Toth
512-463-0797
Steve.Toth@house.texas.gov

 

LOCAL PROPERTY TAX ABATEMENT FOR PRESERVATION

Wednesday morning’s House Ways & Means Committee will start at 8:00 am in JHR 140.  The important bill here is HB 827 (support) filed by Rep. Toni Rose (Dallas).  The bill would extend historic preservation tax abatements to approrpriate new construction if the improvement is economically or physically necessary to support the continued use of an existing historic structure, provided that it is (a) on the same parcel as the historic building or (b) on a parcel adjacent to the parcel with the historic resource and the improvement is constructed in a manner that is consistent with the architectural integrity of the historic building.

Ways and Means Committee Contacts:

Rep. Toni Rose (Bill Author)
toni.rose@house.texas.gov
512-463-0664

Rep. Dustin Burrows (Chair)
Dustin.Burrows@house.texas.gov
512-463-0542

Rep. Ryan Guillen (Vice Chair)
ryan.guillen@house.texas.gov
512-463-0416

Rep. Dwayne Bohac
dwayne.bohac@house.texas.gov
512-463-0727

Rep. Sheryl Cole
sheryl.cole@house.texas.gov
512-463-0506

Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer
Trey.MartinezFischer@house.texas.gov
512-463-0616

Rep. Jim Murphy
jim.murphy@house.texas.gov
512-463-0514

Rep. Candy Noble
candy.noble@house.texas.gov
512-463-0186

Rep. Eddie Rodriquez
Eddie.Rodriguez@house.texas.gov
512-463-0674

Rep. Scott Sanford
Scott.Sanford@house.texas.gov
512-463-0356

Rep. Matt Shaheen
Matt.Shaheen@house.texas.gov
512-463-0594

Rep. John Wray
john.wray@house.texas.gov
512-463-0516

BILLBOARDS

Finally, the House Transportation Committee will meet on Wednesday at 2:00 pm in E2.030 to hear HB 3368 (support).  This bill, filed by Rep. Geanie Morrison, would limit the height of new billboards to 42.5 feet; without the bill, billboards could be 85 feet tall. The Senate companion bill (SB 357) was passed in the Senate on March 25th.

Transportation Committee Contacts:

Rep. Geanie Morrison (Bill Author)
geanie.morrison@house.texas.gov
512-463-0456

Rep. Terry Canales (Chair)
Terry.Canales@house.texas.gov
512-463-0426

Rep. Brooks Landgraf (Vice Chair)
brooks.landgraf@house.texas.gov
512-463-0546

Rep. Diego Bernal
diego.bernal@house.texas.gov
512-463-0532

Rep. Yvonne Davis
yvonne.davis@house.texas.gov
512-463-0598

Rep. Craig Goldman
Craig.Goldman@house.texas.gov
512-463-0608

Rep. Cole Hefner
cole.hefner@house.texas.gov
512-463-0271

Rep. Matt Krause
Matt.Krause@house.texas.gov
512-463-0562

Rep. Ben Leman
ben.leman@house.texas.gov
512-463-0600

Rep Amando Martinez
mando.martinez@house.texas.gov
512-463-0530

Rep. Evelina “Lina” Ortega
lina.ortega@house.texas.gov
512-463-0638

Rep. John Raney
john.raney@house.texas.gov
512-463-0698

Rep. Shawn Thierry
shawn.thierry@house.texas.gov
512-463-0518

Rep. Ed Thompson
Ed.Thompson@house.texas.gov
512-463-0707